Datsyuk Edges Richards For Selke, Ovechkin Wins MVP

83513473CM015_PHILADELPHIA_It was a historic second place finish for Philadelphia Flyers captain Mike Richards. That finish involves tonight’s Frank J. Selke award. The award is given to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game. The winner is selected in a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association at the end of the regular season.

The voting was the closest vote race since the trophy’s inception back in 1978. Detroit Red Wings star Pavel Datsuk won the trophy with a 945-942 over Richards. It shows that the NHL and the fans of the league is giving the Flyer captain the respect he deserves.

Other notes on the NHL Awards:

Alexander ‘The Great’ Ovechkin won his second consecutive Hart trophy as the league’ s Most Valuable Player.  Ovie also won the Lester B. Pearson award for the ‘most outstanding player.’

Columbus rookie goaltender Steve Mason took home to the Calder Trophy as the top rookie. No shock there.

Bruins defensemen Zdeno Chara won the Norris trophy as the best defensemen.

Finally, Bruins netminder Tim Thomas took home the Vezina trophy. He was voted as the leagues top goalie, Thomas posted a record of 36-11-7 with a 2.10GAA.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: