Interview With van Riemsdyk, Pyorala Makes Roster

The monkey is now officially off the shoulders of both James van Riemsdyk and Mika Pyorala.

89598537BB025_DETROIT_RED_WBoth players made the Philadelphia Flyers final roster after the club made their final decision on rosters today. Blair Betts on the other hand, doesnt sound too promising. Betts’ camp and the Flyers have yet to come to an agreement on a contract. GM Paul Holmgren did not too optimistic when asked about the free agents status.

For JVR, this has quickly become on of the biggest accomplishments of his young career.

“It’s really exciting but I still have a job to do out there,” van Riemsdyk said. “You take nothing for granted. The guys have been great, pointing things out to me along the way, making me feel part of the team. The leadership here is second to none.”

“Obviously, it is something you have been dreaming about your whole life – to play in the NHL,” he said. “It’s been a dream since I was little. Something I am constantly thinking about.”

I caught up with van Riemsdyk and asked him a few questions about the Flyers deciding to keep him on the main roster.

1. What were your initial thoughts when you found out that you were needed on the road trip this weekend?

JVR: “I heard from the media initially. Then I got a call from my agent letting me know that I made the team. It just shows all the hard work I put into camp and the games. It was an unbelievable moment for me to experience. All of this is really exciting.

2. What was more of a priority for you. Making sure you impress during practices or showing what you can do in a game situation?

JVR: “The games are obviously important because its everything you learn and work on in practice. You can’t take practices lightly at all. You get better in practice, you work have on the lines that they put you in. From practice you build everyday then take what you learned to the games.

3. When you came into camp did you think you had a shot right away to make the club?

JVR: ” I knew that coming into camp I had a lot of doubters. But I always had that belief in myself that I could make the big club and have an impact on the team. I tried to make their decision as hard as possible. I came in here worked hard, got more comfortable in the system and listened to the coaching to become a better player everyday.”

4. When you play your first NHL game on Friday, what is going to go through your mind?

JVR: “Im gong to try and treat it like any other game, but im sure there’s going to be butterflies because this is something that i’ve dreamed about. Im excited to go out and show what I can do and keep contributing to the team. At the end of the day the most important thing to do is win and I want to help as much as I can to help this team win a Stanley Cup.”

5. Have the Flyers told you what your role is going to be?

JVR: ” They expect everyone to be accountable for their play, compete and take care of their own first. Whatever this coaching staff asks me to do i’ll go out and battle as hard as I can, and absolutely do what I can do help this team win.”

Leave a Reply

