Leighton to undergo back surgery, expected to miss 6-8 weeks

If you’ve read my previous posts or listened to our Flyers Pre-Game Live show last night, you knew I had a bad feeling that the Michael Leighton bulging disc injury would be more than the “one month” that they initially said. It turns out I was right, as today the Flyers announced that Leighton will miss 6-8 weeks after he undergoes back surgery on Monday October 11.

“The procedure, a partial discectomy, will be performed by Dr. Alex Vacarro,” said Flyers GM Paul Holmgren Friday afternoon.

This news isn’t as catastrophic as it may seem, seeing as rookie Sergei Bobrovsky was stellar last night in Pittsburgh, stopping 29 of 31 shots in a 3-2 win. It looks like Coach Laviolette will stick with the hot hand in net tomorrow night against St Louis, although nothing has been confirmed yet.

Leighton said the injury has progressively gotten worse since the end of the Stanley Cup Finals in June.

“I kind of dealt with it a little bit in playoffs last year,” Leighton stated. “It wasn’t bothering me when I was playing, it was just more of an off-ice thing, when I was stretching it was stiff. I did deal with it in the summer. 
 
“I got some tests done and it wasn’t very severe in the summer. All through training camp it was still there, but it didn’t bother me on the ice so I just kind of worked through it. I was told to do exercises and work through it.”

Todays news puts more pressure on the young Russian to continue to come up big, with Leighton out for a couple of months, all the goaltending will fall on “Bob” and Brian Boucher.

In other injury news coming out of last nights game, Claude Giroux underwent X-Rays on his ankle after taking a shot off of it during the game. He was said to be favoring it in the locker room after the game, but word is, he is skating today and should be ready to go for tomorrow night. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

